Yummy energy “wads”

Here is a great nutritious snack for serious athletes who want to clean up their pre, during, and post workout snacks. 

These treats contain wholesome ingredients providing natural energy when you need it the most.  I to eat one of these before an intense hot spinning class (and one after), or pop a couple for a breakfast on the run.  One or two in the afternoon is a great alternative to something from the vending machine, too. 

Set your timer, because prepping these is so fast, even the busiest of us can do it.  Now there are no excuses…except if you eat them all at once (not advisable, but hard to resist).

My friend Erika Galvis shared this recipe with me.  One day we were training together for a triathlon and she had these scrumptious wads in her bento box, for extra energy for a long ride.  I made some changes to her recipe, but they are still delicious and nutritious!  Thanks Erika!

Image

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats

1/4 cup sliced almonds

1-2 Tbsp hemp seed

1/2 cup dried cranberries or cherries

1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 c almond butter

1/2 c crunchy organic peanut butter

1/2 c raw honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 c mini chocolate chips

2/3 cup rolled oats and 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds for topping

In a mixing bowl, combine ingredients and mix thoroughly until the mixture is like a dough.  Grind the 2/3 cup rolled oats and pumpkin seeds in a coffee grinder or Magic Bullet until powder-like.  Roll 1 inch “wads” of dough and coat with oat/pumkin seed powder.  Store in the refridgerator or freezer.  To enjoy on a ride, wrap each wad in plastic wrap and enjoy as needed.

 

 

One thought on “Yummy energy “wads”

  1. Hello I am so delighted I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Askjeeve
    for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

