throw together this super fast dish in 15 minutes

I never would have thought that it would come out right.  I had literally 15 minutes to make a dish to share and it HAD to taste good. I was making it on the fly for a tasting to convince people that eating healthy tastes good.  My first attempt failed miserably.

I didn’t even have time to use a recipe.  I knew that I wanted to incorporate quinoa into the dish so I threw about 1/2 cup of quinoa into about 1 cup of water and put it on the stove to boil, while I scrounged around the fridge to see what I could use as far as veggies go.

When I got to my worksite, I wasn’t sure i would even serve it (I had yet another back up).  I was afraid I would turn everyone off to healthy cooking forever!  I decided to taste the dish yet again, and cooled off, it was actually pretty good!  I warned people, but they LOVED it!  The best part is they were really excited about how easy it was and requested that I post the recipe (hence, current blogpost).

One person suggested using it as an alternative stuffing to stuffed peppers.  I didn’t have an bell peppers, but a red bell pepper would taste and look great!

Here is what came out of a rant in the kitchen–a wonderful, nutritious dish you can eat as a side dish or an entree.Ingredients: (this is just what I happened to have)

1/2 yellow onion

1/2 cup of chopped celery

2 small zucchini chopped

3/4 cup of frozen roasted corn

1/3 cup of fresh peas (from the pod!  they are so cute in there)

1-2 cloves of garlic

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup quinoa

Directions:

Cook quinoa according to the package directions, taking it off the heat just before all the liquid is gone.

Saute the onion and celery in as little grapeseed oil as possible, until starting to soften.  Add the frozen corn, peas, and seasoning (I added a little red pepper too, but you don’t have to).  Add about a 1/4 of water if the saute starts to get dry.  Take the veggies off the heat while they still look fresh, like they could cook a little longer.

Add to the quinoa, stir everything together. Ideally, let mixture sit for 10 minutes (it will give it a chance to cool and the flavors to set up).

ENJOY!! (pictures forthcoming)

Leave a Reply

