The easiest gluten free spaghetti you’ll ever make

Gluten-Free FREE Spaghetti

Nutritious, Delicious, and takes about 10 minutes

(if you have a basic garden it will cost you next to nothing!)

    zukespag

Before you turn the page on this dish, you have to try it.  I’m not the best food photographer, but this dish is worth trying.  My husband, who is not a huge fan of my food experimentations, LOVED this dish.  He is a pretty classic meat and potatoes kind of guy.  He asked if I could make it again!!! (that never happens, especially when its a healthy dish!!  yay! for me)

Sharing with friends:

About every 3 months we get together with a few of our friends to enjoy vegan dishes and its kind of turned into a Vegan Gourmet Club.  It came about by myself experimenting with a plant-based lifestyle.  I find it fascinating what vegan and raw chefs do with plants.  It really is amazing.  Being vegan forced me to look at food in a whole new way, and I was challenged to try new things–new veggies, new preparations, using nuts to make things creamy.  It was really fun!

But, when our friends wanted to get together for dinner, there were very few options in Cincinnati.  I also wanted to challenge them to experiment as well.  Isn’t that what gourmet clubs are about?

None of the people in the group are dedicated vegans (including myself, but I still greatly limit animal products).  However, we have continued to have our dinners and be inspired by each other.

This time I decided to try a raw dish that was inspired by a dish at THE one dedicated vegan restaurant in Cincinnati, The Lovin Hut.  (Seriously, its the only one)  Its raw spiralized zucchini and raw tomato sauce.  My husband RAVED about it and so did everyone else.  So, here it is for all to share!!

There are several recipes online, but I added a secret little twist that gives it an extra special taste.  Here it is:

sauce ingredients

Put these ingredients in a high speed blender or food processor.  cut the tomatoes in half or quarters, use about half of the sundried tomatoes (about 1.5 oz), 2 1/2 cloves of garlic, a handful of basil leaves, and about 1-2 TBSP of high quality olive oil. Add pepper to taste.   Now, for the secret ingredient:  I add about a handful

walnuts  Walnuts are used by non-dairy advocates to give a Parmesan cheese flavor.  You can grind and use to top the dish as well.

NOW, puree all the ingredients until mixed and smooth.

To prepare the zukes:  just cut off the ends and add to a spiralizer.

zucchini  spiralizer

The spiralizer is a fun, easy-to-use tool that can be found on Amazon.com (click here for the link).

When you put the zukes in the spiralizer, it comes out like this:

spiralizerinaction  It takes about 5 minutes to do this.  Your kids could do this while you are prepping the sauce.  (be sure the don’t touch the sharp parts)

I put the dish I’m going to serve the spaghetti on at the base of the spiralizer as shown above, so all I have to do is pour the sauce on and voila!  It’s DINNER!

Sauce:

About 5 small tomatoes or 2-3 regular size

2-3 TBS olive oil

2 cloves of garlic (3 if they are small)

a handful of sun-dried tomatoes (about 1.5 oz)

pepper

a handful of walnuts (shhh…don’t tell my husband) (a lot of vegans use walnuts to add a parmasian cheese flavor)

about a handful of fresh basil leaves

Blend in a high speed blender on “sauces” or in a food processor till smooth and fully blended.

Zucchini Spaghetti:  The easiest  FREAKING way to make spaghetti

take some zucchini (I also used yellow squash)

cut the ends off–blunt

put in spiralizer and have some spiraling fun!!

Pour the sauce (should have a thick consistency) over the top of the spaghetti.

Enjoy!!! I would love to hear what you think!!!

Please leave a comment below!!  Thanks!

Elyse

3 thoughts on “The easiest gluten free spaghetti you’ll ever make

  1. Looks awesome. I’ve debated on a spiralizer…if only a food processor could do this:) I don’t have to eat gluten free but it seems like such a great way to get more veggies in.

Leave a Reply

