Homemade Chipotle

Tonight I made my version of a black bean bowl.  I don’t have any pictures, because I ate it so fast!  It was awesome!  I’ve been making my own black beans for a few months (super easy–see recipe below) and was wondering, what can I do to spice them up??  OHHH, add chicken, like at Chipotle! I thought to myself, it kind of tastes like chicken with taco seasoning on it, grilled.  It finally being warm outside, grilling sounded yummy too.  (in general, I don’t think grilling meat is that healthy, but this was good–be careful not to over cook and get a lot of black on it).

So here is what I did:

Black beans–homemade:

Image

Empty a bag of dry black beans into a crock pot and fill with water until covered (about 2 inches over the top of the beans).

Let them soak for 2 full days.  If you think about it, pour off water after the first day and repeat.  There will be bubbles–that’s normal.

After soaking, rinse completely and add more water exactly like the first time.  Add:

2-3 cloves of garlic, whole

2-3 bay leaves

some salt, pepper, cumin to taste (start with a pinch–you can always add more)

cook in crock pot on high all day or until beans are soft.  These beans will be pretty bland–you can add more seasoning or some taco seasoning that I used on the chicken.

OMG!  Easiest, Yummiest Taco Seasoning EVER!!!  You should NEVER buy this pre-made again.  Have you ever read the ingredients on that stuff?  Lots of salt, variations on salt, MSG, hydrogenated oil–YUCK!  This is so easy and you can save it forever!  I did not create this recipe–I just googled Heathy recipe for taco seasoning and viola! here it is! 

Image

Thank you Google!  🙂

So I took some boneless chicken thighs and covered them in the taco seasoning and grilled.  Here is how you make your chipotle bowl:

rice (if you must), black beans, cut up chipotle chicken, cut up tomatoes, avocados, and lettuce.  I was in a hurry so I just ate the beans and the chicken.  You could add mango! Oh my gosh!!! that would taste so good!  or use the taco seasoning on beef too.

OR you can go vegetarian, and omit the meat–just adding grilled or sauted veggies, like asparagus, green peppers, even brussel sprouts, using the taco seasoning to flavor.  Tell me about YOUR creations!  take a picture and add a comment below please!!!

thanks!  Elyse

 

Leave a Reply

