cholesterol not the cause for high cholesterol–stop taking statins

I was researching high cholesterol today, not because its “Heart Health Month” but because one of my family members (who shall remain nameless–and no, its not me) has high cholesterol.  I was surprised that their doctor said they should go on a low cholesterol diet, because anyone in the health community with half a brain should know that dietary cholesterol does not cause high cholesterol.

Back when I was an undergrad, I worked in a lab where we studied cholesterol and atherosclerosis, so I know a thing or two about this.  Back then, in the 80s (yes, 30 some-odd years ago) we knew that the primary cause of atherosclerosis (hardening of the arteries) is inflammation of the arterial wall.  Despite that finding, the pharmaceutical industry created statins to control endogenous cholesterol (cholesterol made by our own bodies in the liver).

Because I’m not a doctor a lot of people don’t take me very seriously when I tell them this, and how to fix it.  So,  when I came across this great article by a heart surgeon I wanted to share it right away.   Dr. Lundell does an amazing job summing up why taking statins isn’t really helping “cure” heart disease, how a major component of our American diet is killing us, and clears up major myths about the #1 killer of women in the U.S.

Click here to read the article 

Please read the article, pass along to your loved ones, share on Facebook and share a comment with ME below.

Here’s to our amazing, healthy, miraculous bodies!  Elyse

Leave a Reply

