funk–are you stuck in it?

I’ve been working with a lot of people lately who are in a funk.  A mood funk, a body funk, or just worried about kids, money, their job, etc.  I’m in that lot, too.  When we fall into funkiness (I don’t know what else to call it, that word is so perfect), it can feel like we have fallen into a hole, or driven into a cul du sac.  We know how we got in, but we struggle to figure out how to get out.  Usually, some kind of vice like food, alcohol,  or TV placates us in our place of funk.

I use HGTV and chocolate covered almonds.  I love fantasizing about new ways to decorate my home to avoid thinking about all my worries.  And almonds are good for you, right??

What is your vice?

  • a glass of wine at night?
  • excessive running?
  • ice cream?
  • ???

The problem with vices and with cul du sacs:  even though it feels kind of comfy there (we know the scenery, maybe even the neighbors are nice, and the food is so damn good!), we are just spinning our wheels–we aren’t moving forward on the “grand highway of life.”  (I just made that up but it sounds so auspicious, doesn’t it?).

Let’s face it.  We ALL want to move FORWARD!  We don’t want to keep going around in circles looking for solutions to

  • our body image and health issues
  • our financial issues
  • our personal relationship issues

But, when we stay in this  “cul du sac” fantasy-dream state, going around and around, that is EXACTLY what we are doing.  We are, like my dog, chasing our tails.

I see it all the time.  People come to me thinking that I have some magic pill, some secret that will make them skinny in 6 months.  But they don’t want to do the hard work.

I’m not talking about the hard workouts.  I’m talking about changing.  THAT is the real work.

Changing:

  • thinking habits
  • ideas about food and exercise
  • shopping and cooking habits
  • habits of abusing themselves with their thoughts

There’s a lot of information out there, so most people think they have the answers when it comes to losing weight or being healthy.

And, the truth is…

It’s not that complicated.  But, what IS complicated is filtering all the chatter inside your mind and out in the world.  The rationalization to eat or not to eat, to work out or not.  The negative thoughts inside your head, and maybe even what your spouse says out loud.  The chatter about “all the other times” when you did something only to fail.

THIS is what keeps us in the cul du sac in our minds and bodies.

My friend Christy and I have written a wonderful program that will show you the way out and onto the open road, where you can move FORWARD.  And we are offering it, with tons of support, next week in our Inner Beauty Challenge.  Click here to find out more.  Be a part of this first class and you will receive as an extra bonus:

  • $25 off!  BAM!
  • a free lemon essential oil mailed to you
  • my e-book on how to burn fat

You will also have an opportunity to earn $20 back when you fill our our survey at the end of the challenge.

Are you really ready to get out of your funk?  Life is too short to stay there.  Let’s explore the possibilities together!

I know I can’t wait!!!  Elyse

2 thoughts on “funk–are you stuck in it?

Leave a Reply

